School Days

It's been a full month of school and I wanted to update on how Jax is doing.

He LOVES school.  School was made for him.  He loves the structure, the learning, and his friends.  His favorite part of school is recess.  They are already reading and he is on book 3.  I'm really proud of him.  Letters have always come easy to him so I'm not surprised that reading is fun for him.  Which makes life so much easier when he loves it.

He has a group of friends that he plays with at recess.  He plays either Chima or Skylanders.  Funny how the all the boys love the same stuff.

School here is pretty rigorous.  They only have 1 recess a day.  I'm freaked out by that.  I think Kindergarten needs at least 2 or 3.  They really push the reading skills.  The state mandates tests the first month of school and Jaxson didn't score so well on phonics sounding.  Which is odd since I've worked with him on this during Tot School.  Which shows me that these standardized testing is really just for the birds.  I took those test results and threw them away.  They weren't accurate and if my son really had a problem he wouldn't have been one of the first students to receive the sight word readers in the class.  'Nuff said about that.

I'm glad that we will be moving out of this school district this month.  I've heard the school district that we are moving into is a lot more relaxed and that makes me feel so much better.  More recesses, less testing, which in my mind, equals more fun.

Cause this was his homework one night:
Seriously.  Does he really need to do ALL this writing?  Right now?

Jaxson also had his school pictures taken.  He told Justin and I that he was going to pose like this for his picture:
Luckily, he really didn't and his school pictures turned out normal.  Whew!